Advanced Level Recertification - Hero - Desktop

Advanced Specialist-Level Recertification

ACAMS certified advanced specialists need to recertify every three years. Don’t lose your designation – recertify today.

    Recertifying your advanced specialist-level certification demonstrates your expertise, experience, and commitment to professional development at the highest level.

    Make recertification your next step.

    Stay at the Top of Your Field


    ACAMS certified advanced specialists are at the top of their field. But the AML world moves quickly, and professionals need to move with it. That’s why every three years, ACAMS certified advanced specialists recertify to demonstrate their continuing commitment to AML excellence.


    ACAMS holds records of every certified member, so employers can confirm the credentials of future employees. If you choose not to recertify, you will no longer be able to use your designation and will need to reapply and retake the certification exam if you wish to become certified again.


    By recertifying, you will retain your certification and everything that comes with it. That includes:


    Your designation

    An advanced specialist-level designation exemplifies your extensive knowledge and experience. If you chose not to recertify, you can no longer use your designation after your name.

    Your community

    Being a certified advanced specialist connects you with senior AML professionals across the world. Stay part of a community of professionals just like you – united in the fight against financial crime.

    Your commitment to growth

    When you recertify, you continue your commitment to learning and ensure your knowledge reflects the latest developments in the ever-evolving world of anti-financial crime.

    The Recertification Process


    The advanced specialist-level recertification process is quick and easy. You need to:


    Maintain an active ACAMS membership

    Meet the recertification credit requirements

    Submit the recertification application online during your recertification period, and pay a recertification fee


    For full details of the advanced specialist-level recertification process, download your certification’s candidate handbook. If you have any questions or need further assistance with your recertification application, please contact us.

    Recertification Requirements

    To complete your advanced specialist-level recertification, ACAMS asks you to provide evidence of your continuing education in the form of recertification credits. All of your credits must have been earned in the three years since you obtained your advanced specialist-level certification (or since your most recent recertification).


    To recertify any of the advanced specialist certifications, you need 45 recertification credits. 15 of these must come from training provided by ACAMS.


    You can earn recertification credits for:

    • Each year you have held uninterrupted ACAMS membership
    • Each year of relevant professional experience you have
    • Each hour of relevant educational training you have completed (ACAMS and non-ACAMS provided)
    • Other professional accomplishments


    For details on applicable recertification credits, please refer to the recertification information inside your candidate handbook.

    Adv CAMS-RM


    Adv CAMS-Audit


    Adv CAMS-FCI



    Recertification Fees and Deadlines

    You need to complete your recertification three years after obtaining your advanced-specialist level certification, or three years after your most recent recertification. For example, if you obtained your certification in 2021, you would need to recertify in 2024.


    We offer three recertification options, each with different costs:


    Early application by Oct 1: US$200
    For applications and payments submitted on or before October 1. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your early application deadline will be October 1, 2024.


    Regular application by Dec 15: US$250
    For applications and payments submitted on or before December 15. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your regular application deadline will be December 15, 2024.


    Late application by Mar 31: US$300
    If you miss the deadlines above, you can submit a late application. Your application and payment must be received by March 31. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your late application deadline will be March 31, 2025.


    If you miss the late application deadline, you can no longer submit an application. Your designation will expire, and to become a certified advanced specialist again you will need to reapply and retake the exam. For more information, please contact your account manager.

    Advanced Recertification FAQs

    When is my recertification due?
    What are the requirements I need to meet in order to recertify?
    Do I still need to recertify my CAMS designation?
    I hold several Advanced CAMS designations, do I need to recertify all of them?
    I am Advanced CAMS certified, and recently passed another specialist-level certification (CGSS, CCAS). Do I need to recertify both separately?
    Do I need to submit supporting documentation with my recertification application?
    Do credits earned the same year I obtained my certification, count towards my recertification?
    Can I earn credits towards my recertification by completing training online?
    Can I use the same credits for the recertification of different designations?
    Do other affiliations count towards recertifications?
    How do I record my recertification credits?
    Where can I find a list of my ACAMS credits?
    How can I pay the recertification fee online?
    How do I access and submit my recertification application?
    If I was on maternity/paternity leave, can I apply for recertification extension?
    I did not recertify during the last cycle, what can I do?