Specialist Level Recertification - Hero - Desktop

Specialist-Level Recertification

Every three years, ACAMS certified specialists need to recertify. Keep your designation by recertifying today.

    When you started your certification journey, you took the next step in your career. You committed yourself to professional growth. You joined a community dedicated to fighting financial crime. Now it’s time for you to decide what’s next.

    Make Recertification Your Next Step


    Financial crime doesn’t stay still, and neither do our certified specialists. That’s why every three years, ACAMS certified specialists need to recertify. The recertification process ensures that all certified professionals continue their commitment to development.


    ACAMS holds records of every certified member, so employers can confirm the credentials of future employees.


    By recertifying every three years, you retain your certification and everything that comes with it. That includes:


    Your designation

    A specialist-level designation exemplifies your expertise and opens professional doors. If you chose not to recertify, you can no longer use the CAMS or CGSS designation after your name.

    Your community

    Being a certified specialist connects you with fellow graduates across the world. Stay part of a community of professionals just like you - united in the fight against financial crime.

    Your opportunity for growth

    When you recertify, you continue your commitment to learning. Make sure your knowledge is up-to-date with the ever-evolving world of anti-financial crime – don’t get left behind.

    The Recertification Process


    The specialist-level recertification process is quick and easy. You need to:


    Maintain an active ACAMS membership

    Meet the continuing education credit requirements

    Submit the recertification application online during your recertification period, and pay a recertification fee


    For full details of the specialist-level recertification process, download your certification’s candidate handbook. If you have any questions or need further assistance with your recertification application, please contact us.


    Recertification Requirements

    To complete your specialist-level recertification, ACAMS asks you to provide evidence of your continuing education in the form of recertification credits. All of your credits must have been earned in the three years since you obtained your specialist-level certification (or since your most recent recertification).



    CAMS (Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist)

    You need 60 recertification credits in total to recertify your CAMS credential, and 12 of these must come from training provided by ACAMS.


    CGSS (Certified Global Sanctions Specialist)

    You need 30 recertification credits in total to recertify your CGSS credential. 15 of these must come from training provided by ACAMS.


    You can earn recertification credits for:
    • Each year you have held uninterrupted ACAMS membership*
    • Each year of relevant professional experience you have*
    • Each hour of relevant educational training you have completed (ACAMS and non-ACAMS provided)
    • Other professional accomplishments


    *Only applicable to CAMS. For details on applicable recertification credits, please refer to the recertification information inside your candidate handbook.

    Recertification Fees and Deadlines

    You need to complete your recertification three years after obtaining your specialist-level certification, or three years after your most recent recertification. For example, if you obtained your certification in 2021, you would need to recertify in 2024.


    We offer three recertification options, each with different costs:


    Early application by Oct 1: US$200
    For applications and payments submitted on or before October 1. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your early application deadline will be October 1, 2024.


    Regular application by Dec 15: US$250
    For applications and payments submitted on or before December 15. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your regular application deadline will be December 15, 2024.


    Late application by Mar 31: US$300
    If you miss the deadlines above, you can submit a late application. Your application and payment must be received by March 31. If you obtained your certification in 2021 (during any month), your late application deadline will be March 31, 2025.


    If you miss the late application deadline, you can no longer submit an application. Your designation will expire, and to become a certified specialist again you will need to reapply and retake the exam. For more information, please contact your account manager.

    Specialist Recertification FAQs

    When is my recertification due?
    What are the requirements I need to meet in order to recertify?
    I hold several specialist designations; do I need to recertify all of them?
    I am CGSS/CCAS certified and I also hold an Advanced CAMS Certification. Do I need to recertify both?
    Do I need to submit supporting documentation with my recertification application?
    Do credits earned the same year I obtained my certification, count towards my recertification?
    Can I earn credits towards my recertification by completing training online?
    Can I use the same credits for the recertification of different designations?
    Do other affiliations count towards recertifications?
    How do I record my recertification credits?
    Where can I find a list of my ACAMS credits?
    How can I pay the recertification fee online?
    How do I access and submit my recertification application?
    If I was on maternity/paternity leave, can I apply for recertification extension?